Choctaw Middle School - Activities

There is a playful component of a well-rounded education - outside the regular academic program - that may positively impact students' success. Extracurricular activities, such as band, chess clubs, student government, yearbook, drama, choir and technolgy clubs can impact students' academic careers to great effect.

Besides being fun and a great way to socialize with peers, extracurricular activities can enhance students' time management and stress management skills, improving overall productivity. Extracurricular activities also increase a candidate's appeal when applying to college.

Overall, students who participate in extracurricular activities will likely see an improvement in their academic and life skills, including discipline, goal-setting, teamwork, accountability and responsibility. They will also find themselves better prepared for post-secondary education. Ultimately, students may even discover that the lessons they learned outside the classroom help them cope with future challenges in the workplace.

For information on how to get involved in these activities, please contact the sponsor of each activities.

Extracurricular Activities at CMS

Activity Sponsor
Academic Team Elizabeth Akers
eakers@cnpschools.org
Art Club Danielle Weigandt
dweigandt@cnpschools.org
Band Kim Eary
keary@cnpschools.org
Chess Club Justin Fletcher
jfletcher@cnpschools.org
Drama Ashley Bower
abower@cnpschools.org
Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America Burge Leathers
bleathers@cnpschools.org
National Junior Honor Society Tracy Cramer
tcramer@cnpschools.org
Student Council Ashley Bower
abower@cnpschools.org
Technology Student Association Rebbecca Brandon
rbrandon@cnpschools.org
Vocal Music Marla Haycox
mhaycox@cnpschools.org
Yearbook Tracy Cramer
tcramer@cnpschools.org

Activities Links

Click on the activity name for more information.

 

Additional Information